Difference between vegan and vegetarian

Difference between vegan and vegetarian

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

There are many people who do not know thedifference between vegan and vegetarian and, in the confusion, they believe that the two terms may indicate the same thing.

More and more people are choosing not to eat animals: now being vegetarian or vegan is no longer a niche trend. In the restaurants there are vegetarian and vegan menus but despite this growing interest, there are still people who are not familiar withdifference between vegan and vegetarian.

Difference between vegan and vegetarian: what are the differences between those who follow a vegetarian or vegan diet. What they can eat and ethical choice.

Difference between vegan and vegetarian

Theredifference between vegan and vegetarianit is fundamental: in both cases the diet does not include animal meat but in the vegan diet the nutritional behavior is even more severe.

THEvegetariansthey don't eat meat(fish is also called meat!). Avegetariantherefore, it can eat animal derivatives such as dairy products (milk and cheese), honey and eggs.

What can't vegetarians eat? In practice, a vegetarian does not eat foods that consist of portions of any part of an animal's body. THEvegetarians don't eat:

  • Red meat
  • White meat
  • Game
  • Fish
  • Crustaceans
  • Insects
  • Seafood
  • Any product obtained with components of animal meat or bones

For example, sugar is often purified with a product made using animal bones. Thevegetarianmore careful, he will refrain from consuming white sugar because, albeit of a vegetable nature, animal parts are used in its production process.

Same goes for some cheeses. THEvegetariansthey can eat cheese, however, some cheeses are prepared from rennet, that is, a set of enzymes extracted from the stomach of ruminants such as calves and lambs.

What can a vegetarian eat?Vegetarians follow a diet based on cereals, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, algae, yeasts, mushrooms ... they can eat any ingredient obtained from the plant kingdom and animal derivatives such as:

  • milk and yogurt
  • cheeses without rennet
  • eggs
  • honey

There are also some vegetarians called "lacto-vegetarians" that is, who do not eat eggs but eat dairy products.

The diet of thevegan, as stated, it is more restrictive. If thatvegetariancan be seen as a diet, thatveganis plus onemoral position sometimes referred to as "philosophy".

According to the Vegan Society, theveganism is a lifestyle that seeks to exclude, as far as possible, all forms of exploitation and cruelty to animals, whether for the production of food, clothing or for other purposes.

This means that aveganhe will not only pay attention to his nutrition butwill avoidcarefullyany product tested on animals or containing animal by-products such as leather, wool, silk, leathers… aveganwould avoid using a lipstick that contains theBeeswaxor to use beeswax candles!

The vegetarian can eat any type of chocolate, the vegan cannot! The vegan must pay attention to buying extra-dark chocolate prepared without adding milk but only with cancao and cocoa butter.

What do vegans not eat? Animals and any animal derivative! As we have seen, the vegan position is not just about food. Vegans avoid any type of animal exploitation, including the use of animals for entertainment: such as, for example, in circuses. To find out what vegans can eat, an in-depth study is available: what vegans can eat.

Do vegetarians eat fish?

Clarified the difference between vegan and vegetarian, let's do a little insight. For many people, thevegetarian dietis the first step of the change to convert toveganism.

Those who decide to become vegetarian or vegan can make this choice for moral, ethical and health reasons. At this point it seems clear that neither vegetarians nor vegans eat fish, however, there are exceptions.

Vegetarianism can be quite complex. While all vegetarians and vegans follow the same dietary guidelines and ethical behaviors, there are different types ofvegetarian diet.

Lacto-vegetarian diet
Vegetarians do not eat animal meat (fish, white meat, red meat ...) or eggs but they do eat dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarian diet
Vegetarians do not eat animal meats or dairy products, however they do eat eggs.

Pescetarians or fish - vegetarians
The word "pescetarian" does not fully satisfy this definition. In theory ivegetarians don't eat fishbut there are some people who, for health reasons, decide to avoid farmed meat of any kind but continue to eat fish and other seafood.

It may interest you: vegetarianism

Video: Vegan for 30 Days: What They Dont Tell You (July 2022).


  1. Quauhtli

    Here and so too happens:)

  2. Marcus

    I'm sorry, but I think you are making a mistake. I propose to discuss it. Email me at PM, we'll talk.

  3. Niewheall

    Willingly I accept. The question is interesting, I too will take part in discussion. Together we can come to a right answer. I am assured.

  4. Kayde

    You very talented person

  5. Cillian

    Now all became clear, many thanks for an explanation.

Write a message